Preparing for Travel.

I’m going to the Big Apple! It’s going to be my very first time to Arizona! And, I am feeling so excited! And, nervous. And, anxious and worried. And, fearful. And, having so many thoughts of things that may and can go wrong. And, feeling as though I have so much to do with so little time. And, …… (this just seems to be going go on and on and on without an end).

There is no doubt about the part of things to-do. It’s a whole lot of thought, planning, preparation, packing, as well as checking before making any trip. Little trips to obtain items for the actual trip and maybe a few other trips when I misstep while I walk. Haha? If there were an emoticon I’ll insert one that smiles sheepishly here.

Okay. So I’m not somebody with the best of coordination – but I do attend pilates classes regularly. I can talk/write more about that another time 😉

What I have been using to help me to calm those nerves and to aid in my planning are (you guessed it right!) my essential oils! Well, technically the oils do NOT do my planning and preparation and packing for me – I really wish and so many times I have fantasied swishing a pencil with a flick of my wrist and all the things listing itself down and items going wherever it magically does as do in movies. Okay, back to reality. What the oils have been helping me with is facilitating within me sufficiently feelings of calm, peace and stability so that I can gather enough of my scattered-brain to actually be productive.

Right, so here’s what I used and found helps me:

Sandalwood essential oil – this really grounds me and gives me the feeling of my feet on the ground with a sense of stability. I also really enjoy the depth of the woody, rich and smokey aroma (as well as many other layers my nose and mind has not yet been furnished with vocabulary to identify).

Rose oil – I currently use a 5% absolute in grapeseed oil. Even with just a whiff of this, I feel myself brought to my sense (of smell) and calming down from my many worrying and fearful thoughts and feelings of anxiety to being more mindful of the moment and enjoying smelling the roses.

Joy essential oil blend – I really enjoy this one because it’s a gift from a loved one and my bottle has a handwritten note that says it helps “eases anxiety and boosts mood”. On days when I cannot seem to gather my thoughts, this has been a great help with managing my moods. Oh, and it has rose too!

And, next time, I’ll share what I’m packing for my travels. 🙂 Bye for now!

Leave a comment